It's almost time to lose an hour of our lives that we'll never get back. Daylight Savings Time is right around the corner and we should all expect to be a bit more groggy. But before you catch up on your sleep, check out everything you need to know about Spring Forward in 2018 — including when it starts, when the clocks change, and which states are exempt!

When do the clocks change in 2018?

Most of the United States will "spring forward" at 2 a.m. on Sunday, March 11. That means we'll jump from 1:59 to 3 that morning. The clocks on most smartphones and computers update automatically, which is wonderful for those of us who forget about the time change. (#Blessed.) But don't forget to manually adjust your other clocks, which might include the ones on your microwave, oven, coffeemaker, and car.


What states do not have daylight savings time?

Arizona and Hawaii haven't observed daylight savings time since the late 1960s. In Arizona, observing DST would mean using cooling systems for an extra hour and thus using more energy, defeating the purpose. (That said, the Navajo Indian Reservation, which extends into Arizona, does observe DST.) And in Hawaii, there's not much difference in daylight length between the seasons, since the state is so close to the equator, so people there are basically like, "Meh."

Did Florida really pass a bill to stay in daylight savings time year-round?

You betcha! As CNN reports, it took less than a minute for the state Senate to pass the "Sunshine Protection Act" on March 6, and the bill now goes to the governor and then to Congress for approval. All this clock-changing is making Floridians feel #OverIt, apparently. (Yeah, well, they'll be sorry once the rest of us "fall back" and earn an extra hour of sleep in November, so there!)