Country music is taking Austin, Texas, as the CMT Awards stop in the Live Music Capital of the World for the second year in a row. Fans are ready to vote for their favorite artists ahead of the Sunday, April 7, event. 

Who Are the 2024 CMT Awards Nominees?

Kelsea Ballerini – who is set to return as host of the annual event – is tied for the most nominations with superstars Cody Johnson, Jelly Roll, Lainey Wilson and Megan Moroney with three nominations apiece.

The “Miss Me More” artist is looking to take home the award for Female Video of the Year for her song “Penthouse” as well as CMT Performance of the Year for her performance of “IF YOU GO DOWN (I’M GOIN’ DOWN TOO)” at last year’s event. 

Kelsea is also up for the night’s top prize of Video of the Year alongside 15 fellow country stars. Kane Brown is looking to go back-to-back in the category after winning in 2023 with wife Katelyn Brown for their song “Thank God.”

On April 1, the Top Six nominees for Video of the Year were announced. Ashley McBryde for “Light On In the Kitchen,” Cody Johnson for “The Painter,” HARDY for “Truck Bed,” Jelly Roll for “Need A Favor,” Kelsea Ballerini for “IF YOU GO DOWN (I’M GOIN’ DOWN TOO),” and Lainey Wilson for “Watermelon Moonshine.”

The CMT Awards are the industry’s first fan-voted awards show. Voting for Video of the Year will continue with the top three announced on show day. Final voting will be determined via social media and announced as the final category during the live show, the network revealed. 

First-time nominees include country artists like Tyler Childers and Zach Bryan. Out-of-genre artists such as Bret Michaels, who is nominated with Chris Janson for Performance of the Year for their CMT Crossroads performance of “Nothing But a Good Time”, Amber Riley, nominated for her performance of “R.E.S.P.E.C.T.” at CMT Smashing Glass, and Hozier, who is nominated with Maren Morris for their CMT Crossroads performance of “Take Me To Church,” are also being recognized. 

Trisha Yearwood is set to receive inaugural June Carter Cash Humanitarian Award at this year’s event.

“We are thrilled to honor the incomparable Trisha Yearwood with the inaugural June Carter Cash Humanitarian Award at this year’s show. Trisha has a unique ability to rally a community, whether that may be families in need with Habitat for Humanity, or uplifting her fellow artists and entertainers trying to carve a path in the industry,” CMT Music Awards Executive Producers announced on March 25. “She embodies the bold strength of June, who tirelessly devoted herself to service and community, and the namesake for this award. Both multi-hyphenate trailblazers eloquently crafted a script for others to model, letting their hearts and authenticity guide their personal, professional and public lives.”

In addition to being recognized with the award, the “Walkaway Joe” singer will debut her brand new song, “Put It In A Song.”

Who Is Performing at the 2024 CMT Awards?

In addition to the A-List lineup of nominees, this year’s show will be stacked with incredible performances.

Bailey Zimmerman, Cody Johnson, Jelly Roll, Keith Urban, Kelsea Ballerini, Lainey Wilson and more are set to take the stage at Austin’s Moody Center.

“CMT has added Dasha and Jason Aldean to the star-packed performer lineup for the 2024 CMT Music Awards,” the network announced on April 3, noting that Jason will be performing his hit song “Let Your Boys Be Country.”

Stars such as Landman‘s Billy Bob Thornton, Carly Pearce, Emily Osment, Emma Roberts, Gayle KingJames Van Der Beek and Jane Seymour will also be in attendance as presenters.

When and How to Watch the 2024 CMT Awards?

The CMT Awards will air live from Austin’s Moody Center on Sunday, April 7, beginning at 8 p.m. ET on CBS. The show will be available to stream live and on-demand on Paramount+.

How to Vote for 2024 CMT Awards

Fans can vote for their favorite country music artists beginning March 13 through April 1 by visiting Voting for Video of the Year will continue through the live show with the winner being announced at the end of the night.